Encouragement on a rainy day

My grandparents lived in California my entire life, and I grew up on the East Coast, so when they came to visit, it was a big deal. When I was 10, they came to visit for Christmas. It was during this trip that my Mimi introduced me to God. When it was time for me to go to bed, Mimi would come in my room at night and we would say a prayer together. I was uncomfortable when I first started talking to God and said, “I don’t know what to say.” She encouraged me to talk to God as if he was sitting on the end of my bed. I remember asking her,” How does God hear everyone’s prayers?” She explained to me that God was like a large umbrella over the entire world. All these many years later, I think of my grandmother and smile on rainy days.umbrella

The good news is that God isn’t just there on rainy days. He’s always with us, during the sunny and cloudy days. On the sunny days (when life is good), we can thank him for all that he has provided us with. On those cloudy days, we need to remember to go to him first with our prayer for guidance, direction and understanding. Looking in the Bible, God never promised us that there wouldn’t be bad days. But he did promise us that he will never leave us or forsake us. He promised that NOTHING is impossible when we follow Him. He promised that you will work out everything for our good. He promised us that His love for us is steadfast and unfailing. All we need is faith!

 

Leave a Reply

