What is faith?

My pastor gave a message about faith this weekend and it got me thinking about my idea of faith and how it has grown over the years.

As a child, I was raised in a home without religion or any mention of God. I was introduced to the idea of God when I had the opportunity to attend church with a friend after a Saturday night sleepover. I remember being in awe as I looked up at the beautiful stained glass windows and did my best to look like I fit in.Faceted_001 I asked my parents why we didn’t go to church they replied, “we don’t need that.” As I got older I was drawn to the idea of God.

A God.

My God.

I wondered, “Can he see me? Does he know my secrets? Does he really love me?” When I went to college I started searching for the answers to my questions. As I started reading the Bible, I had a lot of questions. I wanted proof that God existed. How can we be sure that Jesus was who he said he was? As I asked these questions, I would often get frustrated when the answer was, “that is faith.”

I found myself asking, “what is faith?” The dictionary definition of faith is: confidence or trust in a person or thing; a belief not based on proof.

Today I am a fully devoted Christian and I understand that faith means belief. To have faith means to know that something that can’t be seen is true. Those who have faith choose to trust that God is able and willing to do everything that He has promised us. Faithfulness is living a life that pleases God and using all that we have to please Him.

Then the way you live will always honor and please the Lord, and your lives will produce every kind of good fruit. All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better. Colossians 1:10 (NLT)

As we know Jesus better, His divine power gives us everything we need for living a godly life. 2 Peter 1:3

As I have grown to learn to know God, I have seen the result of living faithfully. I am filled with joy, peace, and patience.

So on this Sunday I ask……What does the word ‘faith’ mean to you?

One thought on “What is faith?

Leave a Reply

