Butterflies

butterfly_on_flower-1920x1200In my upcoming book, I compare my journey of faith to that of the life cycle of a butterfly. When I was young, I had no knowledge of the Bible and the idea of God was just that. I looked forward to sleepovers at a friend’s house that led to a trip to church. As I went off to college, I was a hungry caterpillar, searching for knowledge to feed my curiosity. I began investigating churches and learning about the Bible. At the age of 22 I entered my chrysalis stage as I was baptized and received Communion for the first time. I stayed wrapped up tight in the dark for many years yearning for a personal relationship with Jesus. Unlike a butterfly, that completes the transformation in about 4 weeks, it wasn’t until I was 38 years old that I found what I had been yearning for when my family began attending a new church and it was life changing for us all. For the first time in my life, I felt that I had a true connection and relationship with Jesus Christ. I realized that in all my previous searching, I had really only scratched the surface. I formed a group of friends at church who were excited to bring me alongside and help me mature spiritually. My new butterfly wings were still wet and creased at first, but as my family and I started reading the Bible together, we fully accepted and understood what it meant to believe that Jesus Christ is our Savior. Our lives are now full of worship music, small groups, mission trips, and a love for the Lord that we’d never known before. I have finally completed my metamorphosis and begun to fly!

Definitely worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

