Forgiving the unforgivable

pixteller forgive

I survived a childhood of physical and emotional abuse from the two people who were supposed to love me the most. My coping mechanism was to avoid (the memories) and deny (that anything was wrong). I struggled with the idea of forgiveness for a long time. I didn’t want to forgive my parents, because I believed that they didn’t deserve it. What I learned was that by forgiving, I was able to release my pain and entrust justice to God. My forgiveness didn’t excuse what they did; it allowed me to stop being the victim.

Leave a Reply

