A new beginning

Yesterday was a tough day for me. After eighteen years of living with my oldest son, my husband and I took him to college. The hours leading up to the move in time were nerve wracking. I was filled with emotions ranging from excitement to grief. The move in went smoothly and I felt joy as we said goodbye. He is an amazing young man with a wonderful future ahead of him.

When my hu20150827_151241sband and I got in the car and drove away from the campus, I remembered the beautiful day in May of 1997 when we left the hospital with him. That’s when the tears started. As I looked at my husband and thought back to that day, I had to laugh remembering how nervous we were. How did eighteen years pass by so quickly when I can clearly remember days that felt like they’d never end?

My husband said we need to give him some space these next few days, but it took a lot of self control not to text him today. I have so many questions that I’m dying to know! Do you like your roommate? How was your new bed? What did you eat?

Mostly, I want to tell him, “I love you.”

I’m finding comfort in this verse today: “For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.” (2 Corinthians 4:17-18, NLT)


2 thoughts on “A new beginning

  1. Tracey –
    What a wonderful blog! I’m in Chicago now and reading your insights on family relationships and faith. Thank you for the courage to share!
    Please say hi to the family for me!
    Isabel

    Like

Leave a Reply

