“For every season there is a change”

This time of year brings many changes to our daily lives including the end of wearing sandals, cooler weather, homework, and fall sports. Most of the time we look forward to change, but sometimes it can be a scary thing to approach the unknown.
unnamed-2

As I look around me, I am suddenly faced with many changes in my life and those around me. My oldest son left for college in late August and our table of six is suddenly a table for five. We have said goodbye to friends and welcomed new neighbors on the street. New schools and new teachers have my sons nervous and excited at the same time. After eight years of teaching, I have started a new part-time job so that I can pursue my dream of writing a book. I find myself second guessing my decision and wondering if I’ve made the right choice. All of this is a bit unsettling, and I find comfort in some of the constant, unchanging, routines to keep me grounded.

We can find comfort in knowing that God’s love for us is a constant that will always be there for us, even when it seems that our world is spinning out of control with change. We see this in scripture:

“I will never fail you. I will never abandon you. We can say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me?’ Remember your leaders who taught you the word of God. Think of all the good that has come from their lives, and follow the example of their faith. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8.

With this knowledge we can rest assured that God will see us through the changes in our lives, whether they are big or small, hot or cold, fun or scary!

What new changes are making you feel a bit unsettled?

8 thoughts on ““For every season there is a change”

  1. Tracey I am so glad you are sharing your thoughts and heart with others! I know many things are impacted by job changes so it’s easy to wonder if our choice was the right one but I know God blesses trusting him and taking risks in that walk. So I look forward to seeing what message He will bring us through your book! Hugs, Donna

    Like

  2. Just started following your blog I believe you will be successful with your book can’t wait to read it……changes are scary I decided to retire early (the end of the year) from my present job in order to pursue my passion of volunteering at our local hospital …not sure how the financial adjustment will go YET GOD

    Like

  3. I loved this post. Change is hard, but its through the hard times that we learn to trust God. The seasons in nature give us a good picture of our own “seasons” ~ seasons of renewal (spring), seasons of joyfulness (summer), seasons of separation (fall) and seasons of death and loneliness (winter). Yet, just as the seasons transition one into another, we too transition from one season to the next. We won’t (and shouldn’t) stay in one season for too long or we will miss the beauty found in the others. It brings to mind the song from Nichole Nordeman “Every Season”… beautiful song! Here is a link to a youtube video of it. Hope it blesses you! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6rUjYj3x9k

    Like

Leave a Reply

