Write 31 Challenge: Word of the Day

October 9 Word of the Day: Change

31 day word challenge

Change can be scary. Each season of our life can bring new situations, a new job, move, relationships ending or beginning, children going to school or leaving the house, and each is full of unknowns.

My own family went through two big changes recently. Last June I took a leap of faith and left my teaching job so that I can pursue my dream of publishing a book. I found myself second guessing my decision and wondering if I’d made the right choice. In August, our oldest son went off to college. This was a big adjustment as our family of six had one empty place at the dinner table. My husband I had to adjust to the fact that he is grown and no longer under our authority. Fortunately, he is doing very well and is able to come home to visit. All of this is a bit unsettling, and I find comfort in some of the constant, unchanging, routines to keep me grounded.

We can find comfort in knowing that God’s love for us is a constant that will always be there for us, even when it seems that our world is spinning out of control with change. We see this in scripture:

“I will never fail you. I will never abandon you. We can say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me?’ Remember your leaders who taught you the word of God. Think of all the good that has come from their lives, and follow the example of their faith. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8.

With this knowledge we can rest assured that God will see us through the changes in our lives.

Have you had to ask God to help you through a change recently?

Leave a Reply

