#Write 31 Challenge- Word of the Day

October 28 Word of the Day- Hunger

As the mother of four sons (11, 15, 16, 18) this is a very familiar word. Teenage boys are ALWAYS hungry! Some mornings I am greeted with the question, “What’s for dinner tonight?” before I’ve even brushed my teeth. My husband and I do our best to keep healthy options available for snacks for the boys, but sometimes I hear, “There’s nothing to eat.” This makes me sad and frustrated and I remind them that as Americans, we have no idea what it means to be truly hungry.

This really sunk in for them when my sons and I had the privilege to volunteer for an organization called Feed My Starving Children. Feed My Starving Children is a non-profit Christian organization committed to feeding God’s children hungry in body and spirit.prov22-9-h

Feed My Starving Children provides life-saving meals to people who need them most all over the world — from countries affected by
natural disaster to places enduring economic despair. FMSC meals have been distributed in nearly 70 countries through missionary partnerships at orphanages, schools, clinics, refugee camps and malnourishment centers.

9712876738_9f57840235_o

FMSC believes in sustainability – they don’t simply send one shipment of food to a country. Instead, they continue to provide their mission partners with the food they need to maintain their feeding programs.The approach is simple: children and adults hand-pack meals specifically formulated for malnourished children, and they ship these meals to distribution partners. FMSC meals have reached nearly 70 countries around the world in our history.

Our local church hosted a “mobile pack” and we assembled the packages of meals. It was a fun, rewarding event and became meaningful to my sons when they realized that with little effort, we had provided food for thousands of children in just 2 hours.

Would you consider doing a Mobile Pack event at your church or other organization? For more information click here:

Feed My Starving Children 

Leave a Reply

