Fear of rejection

We all fear rejection, it’s human nature. Fear that we won’t fit in (remember middle school?), fear that we won’t get the job, fear that we won’t make a good impression. Being rejected makes us feel unworthy.

Fear-quote

When writing a book, every author worries about rejection. Will anyone read it? What will critics say? After all the time spent on edits, re-writes, and drafts, it is difficult to take rejection lightly.

I was full of fear when I asked for a professional review of my book. It took several weeks, so I waited. During the waiting, I realized that there was nothing else that I could do. I prayed (a lot!) and found comfort in this verse (Isaiah 41:10):

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you.
I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

The moment finally came and I received my first real review for my book. God was right, I didn’t need to be worried. My faith in my writing and in God’s love for me was stronger than my fear of rejection.

What is your fear holding you back from? 

To read the review of my book, Out of the Darkroom, Into the Light: A Story of Faith and Forgiveness After Child Abuse, click here. The book launches on Monday!

4 thoughts on “Fear of rejection

Leave a Reply

