A Stress-Less December

December is here! I have usually worked myself into a full blown panic by this time. I worry about all the details that I think will make it the perfect holiday: cards, parties, presents, food, and decorations. You see, I am a lot like Martha in Luke 10:

As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. 39 Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. 40 But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”41 But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! 42 There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”

This year I am going to do my best not to and want to be able to truly enjoy the holiday season and all the joy it brings. Jesus

I was tested this morning as I began to feel overwhelmed by tasks that I need to complete today. I reminded myself of my promise to myself and thought of how I could spin my “to-do” list into a list of things to be thankful for:

  1. Walk dog in the rain-I am so thankful for the big, silly dog that we rescued last year and love him to death!
  2. Purchase and deliver birthday treat to my son’s 5th grade class- I am thankful for a job that allows me flexibility to pop in to celebrate with my son during lunch.
  3. Buy 50 pound bag of dog food- I am thankful that I don’t have to prepare him a “real” meal.
  4. Bake birthday cake for my 4th son- Ok, this might not happen….back to the store.
  5. Pick up 1st son from college for family dinner- I am so happy that he goes to a college close enough that he doesn’t have to miss family events like his baby brother’s 11th birthday.
  6. Vacuum and straighten up the house before grandparents come over for cake and presents- I’m so thankful that we have family close enough to celebrate birthdays and holidays together!

There…that is much better. I challenge you to try to do the same as you feel overwhelmed this season. Think of Mary and Martha. Remember the reason that we celebrate.

 

Leave a Reply

