Because He is, I am.

I am enough.

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to an amazing retreat called Winsome. It is in a beautiful spot in the mountains of Pennsylvania and I was excited about getting away for the weekend to be with other women and enjoy fellowship together.

As I was driving there I was wondering who else might be there. And then I started thinking about the clothes I brought. Should I have brought some nicer things? Maybe different jewelry? What if when I arrived none of the women who I knew where there and I had no one to talk to? I had been asked to speak about my book and was suddenly worried that I would forget what to say or that no one would care.

Has self doubt ever gotten the better of you and anxiety steals the place of excitement?

Why do we let this happen?

As the retreat got underway I forgot about my worry and settled into an inviting worship time. It didn’t matter what I was wearing or who I was with. What mattered was that I was there with a yearning to grow closer to God and fill my heart with His love.

I was quickly reminded that I am enough because He is enough.

And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work (2 Corinthians 9:8 NIV).

The retreat was wonderful! I saw my friends, made many new ones, drank a lot of coffee and wished that I had brought my comfy sweat pants. Next time I feel those familiar pangs of self doubt creep in, I will remember….I am enough.

l-370173

11 thoughts on “Because He is, I am.

  1. This is beautiful and it resonated so much with me because my word for the year is ENOUGH. God is enough. And as you’ve reminded me, I am because He is.

    I’ll be pinning and sharing this widely.

    By the way, I’m glad I found you through Christian Women Bloggers Unite and I’m happy to follow along!
    Blessings.
    Marva | sunSPARKLEshine

    Like

  2. So true!! There’s times when my friend and I will go to church and we are worried what people will think of what we’re wearing, etc. but we need to remember that we are there for the Lord! And when we do all falls into place. Such a great reminder to read this!

    Like

  3. You are enough! Yes! That is pretty much my life motto – hence “The Good Enuf Mommy” 🙂 Glad you had such a great time. Thanks for linking up with our #taketime link up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

